TheCreativePattern’s MAVERICK OF THE WEEK IS @Foyinog

1.Introduction

My name is FoyinOg, and I’m the creator of a little online webspace called The DearSolo Blog.

FOYINOG  BANNER.jpg In between blogging about fashion, beauty and other lifestyle related things, I’m also a second year BBusSci Marketing student at UCT, a part time Nifty250 employee and a pop-culture enthusiast.

2.What do you do for a living?

I’m a student, but apart from that and running my blog, I work part time as a Social Printer for Nifty250.

3.What makes you a creative – what makes your creativity distinct? And what inspires you?

First and foremost, I don’t even call myself a creative, haha. I don’t think I live up to that title. But essentially, its mostly narcissism. I want to create things and write about things that I would have liked to have seen and read. I’m not that great at drawing or sewing and I’m not good enough at music or acting, but through my blog I get to be everything I’ve always wanted to be. I get to play model, creative director, editor-in-chief, make up artist, hair stylist, copywriter and sometimes even photographer. I get to be a face in a space that isn’t really catering to women like me. And that ties into what inspires me – other women. I love seeing other women succeed – I love female artists and musicians and fashion designers and businesswomen and make-up artists and they make me want to be better and to do more!

 

4.When did your blogging journey begin and how is it so far? 

My blogging journey has been a long one, ha. I consider myself a child raised by the internet – and I started my first blog when I was about 12/13. Naturally, it was terrible. But since then, I kept trying and retrying until I found myself and my niche and I think I’ve finally gotten it right. I started the now DearSolo Blog in 2012 and it’s been a great journey. Slow because I took a long time to find my feet but I finally feel like my vision is coming together. A lot more opportunities are coming my way so this is basically just the beginning!

5.What does being a maverick mean to you?

Being a maverick means being a trailblazer, of sorts. You get to make your own path, create your own rules and do what you want to do. You get to create what you want to create and you’re in charge of your own life.

6.Based on your experience, what are the pros and cons of blogging in South Africa and what’s the way forward?

In my very limited experience, I’ve seen that the cons of blogging in SA are that its 1) very new at this scale and 2) very clique-y. New, in the sense that we’re way behind in terms of blogger-brand relationships and many PR firms are getting their interactions with bloggers wrong. They forget that we can’t eat exposure, ha! It’s also cliquey in the sense that it is all about who you know at the moment. Having friends who are successful/work in PR is definitely a plus, and popularity (not necessarily relevance) is a major thing. But with that said, the pros of blogging in SA is that we get to define the landscape! At this crucial time, we get to say how things should we done and how we’d like to be treated. And although cliquey, there is room for all of us in the industry. There is someone who is interested in what you have to say, so you don’t, or rather shouldn’t, have to fight with another blogger for opportunities. If it’s meant for you, it’ll come for you. The way forward is definitely blogger driven content – gone are the days of just forwarding a press release and promising exposure – bloggers are (rightfully) asking to be paid for their work and creating beautiful campaigns for brands! It’s also helping to push the local agenda. And we’re definitely going to be seeing more bloggers move into other avenues of entrepreneurship soon and it’s very exciting.

 

7.What are you currently working on?

Haha, I can’t tell you that! But I’m definitely working on building relationships with my favourite brands, and I’m venturing a lot more into beauty lately. I also have a blog redesign on the way, and I really want to start writing more.

FIVE FACTS ABOUT YOU.         

1.Definition of success?

Achieving the goals I’ve set out for myself. Monetary success is not necessarily the only success, but reaching the milestones I’ve put in my head and being better than I was a year before means that I’m successful. Landing a big campaign would be a dream right now.

2.3 things you love doing?

I love Twitter – I’m always tweeting. I love doing my make up, it’s such a fun and artistic medium for me and I love drinking good wine and eating good food!

 

3.Country you would love to visit?

Right now I would love to visit Paris (again)! I was too young to enjoy it when I first went so I’d love to go back.

4.Current obsession in music and fashion?

Apart from Beyonce’s Lemonade, I’m really obsessing over Kaytranada and Anderson Paak. In fashion, it’s harder for me to say. Rather than designers, let me just say that I’m obsessing over Margaret Zhang right now. But locally, I’m so here for Rich Mnisi!

FOYINOG 8.jpg

5.What ticks you off?

As blunt and shady as I can be, I actually hate it when people are just mean and impolite for no reason. I also hate seeing people walking around barefoot, haha. I also get bothered by people who blow their nose really loudly in enclosed spaces – I mean, I get so insecure when I have to do it! I always try to leave the room. And then, you know, the usual – misogyny, patriarchy, racism and other forms of institutional oppression.

This is FoyinOg, do interact with her through the following:

 

Twitter | Blog | Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

