INTERVIEW:QnA WITH UK BASED ILLUSTRATOR @MonchiCards

Self taught visual artist Nyanza of Monchicards shares  with us TheCreativePattern the story of being such a young and talented illustrator.

Nyanza D Of Monchi Cards 5.png

TCP– TheCreativePattern  MC-MonchiCards

TCP: Who is Nyanza D?                                     

MC: Nyanza is a 20 year old visual artist from London and is the creator of Monchi, whose pop art illustrations comprise of mostly black women with a modern twist.

 

TCP: Can you tell us more on Monchi Cards, when was it established and what services does it render?                                 

MC: Monchi was established in 2014, and its Etsy shop started off with only cards at first, but then branched out to prints and phone cases.                                            

TCP: Vision for Monchi Cards?                          

MC: I would like to go into other things like animation, books. Stuff like that.

TCP: How did you get started as an illustrator?                                                         

MC: I’ve always been artistic and into pop art+comics, but I didn’t really do the style that I do now until a few years ago because of my exposure to even more pop art that I saw in a lot of galleries at the time. I wanted to make my work almost exactly like Roy Lichtenstein and Warhol, but I just couldn’t! And that’s kinda how I found my style – a combination of having my own original ideas and failing to imitate a few of my main artistic influences.

TCP: Can you briefly explain your creative process, mediums etc? How do you cultivate good habits that will encourage creativity?                                                            

MC: I sketch my work out, then I scan it to my MacBook Pro, edit it on Photoshop CC, and that’s it. It’s pretty simple! I like listening to music often and going outside sometimes just to get the creative juices flowing.           

 

TCP: How do you come up with new ideas? Do you have a process?                                 

MC: Ideas usually just come, but other times I have to push them through, which I don’t really like because sometimes it seems obvious that I pushed those ideas through. It’s forced. I can be very critical of my work and I like when my ideas are spontaneous rather than forced.                                             

 TCP: What’s on your horizon? Any current/future projects and plans you can share with us?                                                                      

MC: I’m actually doing a collaboration project with BeautyFull Lips, which will be coming out later this year, so keep your eyes peeled for that! Other than that, you just never know. Last year I didn’t think I was gonna do the things I’m doing now. I’m just optimistic for the future!

 

TCP: Things that inspire you/your work?   

MC: Everyday people, music, music videos, tv/films, art… there are so many characters in all of them which inspires me to create my own stuff. My work is all about character and expression and those things really help jog my mind.

TCP: Art tips to offer?                                          

MC: My advice is to always try and carry on working of course there are days you don’t feel like doing anything – I have that problem very often – but you have to realise there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel and there’s a goal. You never know whose gonna notice you! Having said that, it doesn’t hurt to take breaks. I think that I usually work based on my mood, and to me that produces the best results. So balance is key.

We from TheCreativePattern would like to thank you Nyanza for having a chat with us, may the Lord bless you and your future endeavors.

 You can interact with Monchi Cards through the following:                                     Twitter&Instagram:@Monchicards.

Facebook: monchi.illustrations

Tumblr: http://nyanzad.tumblr.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

