INTERVIEW: AN EMOTIONAL CONNECTION WITH FUNDISWA @Mafundes NTOYI’S PHOTOGRAPHY

She has built a name for herself through her photographic skills&lets her camera do the talking on her behalf, we welcome Fundiswa Ntoyi.

Mafundes 2.jpg
Photo Cred:Tsocu Maela

TCP(TheCreativePattern) FN (Fundiswa Ntoyi)

 

TCP: A little background on who Fundiswa Ntoyi is?                                                                

FN:It’s very hard to say who Fundiswa Ntoyi is, I am a work in progress.But a brief background about myself; I was born, raised and still live in Bloemfontein. I have a B.A Degree in Communication Science. I love taking photographs and sketching. Fundiswa Ntoyi is a force to be reckoned with.     

Mafundes 1.jpg
Photo Cred:Tsocu Maela

TCP: A brief breakdown on your photography history?                                          

FN:My photography history goes as far back as 8 or 9 years  ago when I picked up an old camera from my neighbour’s house. At the time I didn’t know that photography would have so much impact in my life. I have always been fascinated with images and often wondered how they were created, what was going through the photographers mind when he/she captured an image. Fast forward to 2010 that’s when I bought my camera a Nikon D90 and I have never looked back since.

TCP: What makes Fundiswa Ntoyi’s photography distinct?                                        

FN:I am on a quest to create a signature feel or look for my photography, for my work to be easily identifiable in a crowd, but without limiting my style or technique. Thats where i am trying to go. I have been called a queen of portraits by my industry peers, I would then say my approach to creating and capturing portraits makes my work distinct.  

Fundiswa Ntoyi 1.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 2.jpg                                

     

TCP: Local&international inspirational photographers?                                                    

FN:Local: Andile Buka, Mpho Mokgadi, I See A Different You, my dear friend Tsocu Maela, Mr Alf Khumalo

International: Lakin Ogunbanwo, Mambu Bayoh, Annie Leibovitz,  Rog and Bee Walker, Andre Wagner.

 TCP: How has your photography journey been thus far?                                                               

FN:It has been a fulfilling journey, emotionally and spirituality. I believe the soul is elevated to another level when it is satisfied. There are images I have shot, and everytime I look at them my heart is at ease.

Fundiswa Ntoyi 3.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 4.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 5.jpg

 

TCP: What have you learned from collaborating with South African creatives & photographers?                                                    

FN:I have collaborated with one of my great friend Sikelela Msuseni. I have learned that 2 brains are better than one. Lol because you bounce ideas off each other and you learn to give other people’s ideas a chance.

 TCP: What keeps you curious to always take photos?                                                                 

FN:Moments. There are moments that have to be portrayed.        

Fundiswa Ntoyi 6.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 18.jpg  Fundiswa Ntoyi 22.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 19.jpg

TCP: Can you tell us what your go-to gear would be on a shoot?                                          

FN:A 50mm lense is my go to lense I shoot mostly portraits and this lense allows me to get exactly what I need in a frame.

TCP: Whats your useable-to-unusable ratio when you review images from a shoot?             

FN:I rely mostly on my heart it’s very strange, when ever I review pictures from a shoot, I can immediately tell if a picture is the perfect one if my heart skips a beat when I look at it. Strange right?

Fundiswa Ntoyi 16.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 21.jpg  Fundiswa Ntoyi 17.jpg

 TCP: Which country would you like to go shoot at & why?                                                   

FN:Kenya and Nigeria I have friends who are photographers and when I look at their images I always wish I took them. I have a sincere love for those two countries.                                                   

TCP: What to expect from Fundiswa Ntoyi in 2016?

FN:Collaborations, a new body of work and exhibitions        

Fundiswa Ntoyi 10.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 14.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 8.jpg

TCP: What advice do you have for photography enthusiasts looking to go professional?

FN:It’s not rocket science. Passion over everything, if it feels right to you, then it probably is. Shoot shoot shoot.

Fundiswa Ntoyi 9.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 11.jpg

Fundiswa Ntoyi 7.jpg

We from TheCreativePattern would like to thank you Fundiswa for having a chat with us about your love&life through photography.All the best with your future endeavors,God bless. We leave you with a meaningful quote.

“Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real”.~Ansel Adams.

You can find Fundiswa Ntoyi through the following:

Twitter&Instagram:@Mafundes.

Blog:http://fundiswantoyi.tumblr.com.

 

                                                                                            

 

                                 

 

Leave a Reply

