PROFILE: NEO BAEPI PRESENTS “I MAKE PHOTOGRAPHS” @NeoNoHetero

  1. A breakdown on your photography history.

 I dabbled in the art of photography from as young as 12 years of age

Neo Baepi Image

but I never took it seriously until I had the opportunity to study its technicalities at Rhodes University Grahamstown,the Eastern Cape – where I majored in Journalism and Media Studies (JMS) and specialized in Photojournalism. It was then where I was put under the pressure to come into my own and discover what kind of work in the discipline of photography I am good at / interested in. I started collecting my images digitally (and otherwise) from when I was about 19 years of age and have put together a portfolio in the form of a tumblr page since 2012.

Neo Baepi Image 2

2. How has your parents support pushed your photography journey further?                          

My father always reminds me that I have always done “what I have wanted” – I went to university wanting to study journalism and he never held me back. I think he believes particularly that I should make mistakes, but it is equally important that I learn from them. There have been some minor academic setbacks (I was never a top student) but I have always been encouraged to do what will make me happy.                                                                 

  1. Your challenges & achievements so far?

   I find it challenging to be a black queer woman photographer in the current political climate. It is very rare to find an established photographer of colour. I have only been a graduate for less than a year, so I am also finding it challenging to find a source of employment with the skills that I have. In as much as I have a journalism degree, it has taken me this long to realize that I do not want to be a journalist. On the other hand, I have had the opportunity to travel straight after university. In January of this year, I interned under the Texas Legislative Internship Program (TLIP) – where I worked in the Texas State government under a democrat from Dallas.

Neo Baepi 10

 

  1. Local creative’s you have worked with and how have the collaborations given you growth & which creative’s would you like to work with? I haven’t had the opportunity to work with any local creatives yet. As I have mentioned, I have only been out of school for less than a year and for six months I was out of the country. I have been in communication with some young creatives. There is some brilliant work out there and it would be an honour to be a part of the wave.
  2. Lessons learned in your career field?

There is always room to learn more – especially in a field that is getting more and more digital such as photography. I believe in the importance of sticking to the basics of photography, but I don’t frown upon being creative and trying new things.    

      

  1. Your favorite photography quotes?

 “Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst” – Henri Cartier Bresson.               

  “… some of the emotion, the vulnerability, the empathy that makes us human, is lost every time the shutter is released.” – Greg Marinovich

“Today everything exists to end in a photograph” – Susan Sontag

 

Interact with Neo Baepi through the following:

Twitter:@NeoNoHetero.

Instagram:@neonohetero.

Blog:http://neobaepi.tumblr.com.                                    

                                                            

Leave a Reply

