INTERVIEW:CHATTING WITH THE PITBULL IN HEELS FARAH FORTUNE @fcfortune OF @AfricanStar08.

Spotted mingling with well known South African celebrities and attending the coolest events there is more that meets the eye with Farah,let’s converse with her.

Farah 7

1.Please tell me more on who Farah Fortune is?
Farah Fortune is a mom first, then BusinessWoman who enjoys every moment of her life.
2.How did you get your idea or concept for the business?
I started my business in 2008 and realized then, there was a serious lack of artist PR in the entertainment industry. I used to work for Ster kinekor as a movie publicist, I used to deal with all the actors directly and saw the gap there I then went into corporate PR soon after getting the entertainment side of the business off the ground.

farah 3   Farah 1

3.What are the goals, mission statement &values of African Star?
Our slogan is ‘Make your image make waves’. Our goal is all about achieving the desired exposure for the client. There is nothing like a happy client! We value ourselves on the fact that our niche, whether in celeb PR or Corporate PR, is always to grow a brand or artist. You’ll notice most of our celeb clients are/were all unknowns before coming to us, by a few.

Protect the image&brand,portray it in the best possible light and always ensure transparency between audiences and the brand or product

african-star logo.
4.What services does African Star offer?
Corporate & Celeb PR as well as event management alongside Social media services
5.What systems have you set up in your business to help it grow?
I wouldn’t necessarily go into systems, but what has worked for us is network building makes all the difference. This business has a lot to do with who you know as much as what you know.
6. To what do you attribute your success?
My hunger to see our clients succeed

farah 2  Farah 4

7. How do you think being an entrepreneur has hindered you from becoming a better person?
It hasn’t,I’m a better person because of it.
8.Other than deciding to work for yourself what was the single most important decision you made that contributed to your success?
Accepting help from others when they offered
9.Inspiring businesswomen/men of your choice?
My dad, Omar Fortune
10. Which was more rewarding: making your start-up a success or being able to continue keeping it successful?
Anyone can start a business. Go to Cipro, register it and start. It’s that easy, the hard bit is maintaining it…. Making money, paying your bills, paying staff salaries, those are continuous responsibilities.
11.What popular entrepreneurial advice do you disagree with?
I won’t disagree with anyone’s advice. What works for me won’t work for everyone and vice versa.

Farah 6   Farah 8

12.How does being an entrepreneur affect your relationships with your friends and family?
I don’t get to spend as much time with them as I’d like I wish I could see them more often. Time is always an issue I also schedule alone time for myself sometimes I just need to shut myself away and regroup, that’s also hard for friends and family to understand ,sometimes.
13.What entrepreneurial hacks have you developed to stay focused and productive in your day to day?

I’ve taught myself to manage my time better that makes a huge difference. Also staying focused on your own work, helps tremendously!
I don’t have meetings on Mondays, it allows me to catch up with my work and plan for the rest of the week.
I schedule my work every day even if it takes till 3am the next day I finish my list every day.
Don’t over promise and under deliver
14.Two important lessons you’ve learned in the media industry?
• Not everyone is your friend and willing to help you.
• Keep your circle small, hang out with like- minded people and don’t be afraid to shed unnecessary friends.
15.Advice to growing entrepreneurs?
• Only spend when essential
• Save
• Don’t buy what you cannot afford
• Always pay your bills, even if it leaves you broke for a while.

Farah 5

We from TheCreativePattern would like to thank you Farah for the opportunity to chat with you.God bless you and your future endeavors.

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work”- Thomas Edison

Be up to speed to Miss Fortune through the following:

Twitter&Instagram:@fcfortune.
Twitter:@AfricanStar08.
Website:http://africanstar.co.za

Leave a Reply

