INTERVIEW: CINDY VAN WYK ON HER LIFE OF BEING A WRITER -@SugaryOblivion

She frees her emotions,empowers&makes a difference in the world through her writing a warm welcome to Cindy Van Wyk.

1.Introduction on who Cindy Van Wyk is?

I am an almost-25-year-old wondrous writing woman slash professional grammar nazi (aka sub editor) slash columnist from Windhoek, Namibia. I have a Honours Degree in Print Media and English and I plan to pursue a Masters in Creative Writing (hopefully at UCT) at some point. I’m passionate about literature, love and red wine. I’m an eternal bookworm with hopeful romantic tendencies. I’m mentally married to Vin Diesel and one day, we’ll shack up in a cozy little cottage by the Irish seaside

20150319_070021      IMG_1452

2.How & when did your writing journey surface?

I always find it tough to answer this kind of question because, honestly, I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing. I’ve had diaries and journals for as long as I can remember, so writing as always been like therapy to me. One of my first memories of actually wanting to be a writer was sitting at our home computer day after day during my school holidays (I was 11, maybe 12), working on a YA novel in Afrikaans. The computer crashed at some point and I lost all of it, but I guess that was where it started for me. I also had great encouragement and support from my high school Afrikaans teacher, Mrs Ina le Roux, so I’d definitely say she helped nurture the writer in me.

20150326_070300

3.Shortly describe what a day in your working life looks like?

I’m a sub editor for The Namibian, the biggest daily newspaper in Namibia, but no two days look exactly alike. If I’m not subbing and proofing pages for one of our three weekly supplements (TopRevs [motoring], The YouthPaper [for primary and high school pupils as well as university students up to the age of 21] and The Weekender [arts, culture, lifestyle, etc supplement], I’m thinking of/writing my column or stressing about meeting deadlines.                                                             4.If you would say one line of inspiration to a hungry soul that wants to make it in Hollywood, what would it be?                                                                                                                                                                                                    Honestly? My ‘one liner’ would be: DON’T. I’m not big on trying to ‘make it’. Don’t make art to ‘make it’. Make art to change lives, to put beauty into the world, to make a difference. Not to make a quick buck.

20150307_160841   20150326_072309

5.What blogs/sites are you following to keep yourself updated with the industry?

I wouldn’t say I follow anyone to ‘keep up with the industry’. I don’t think about ‘keeping up with the industry’ at all.

6.How does your writing relate to your spiritual practice or other life path?

Writing is everything to me. It is catharsis, it is therapy, it is healing…There is no me without it.

7.Who are the core inspirational writers that you feel were influential in your work?

J.K. Rowling, Khaled Hosseini, Jodi Picoult, Hana Riaz, Warsan Shire, Nova Masango, Junot Diaz…

20150522_170749          20150530_162136

8.What do you think most characterizes your writing?

Honesty. Even when it hurts.

9.A young growing writer that people should check out?

One of my favourite young writers is my close friend, James Strauss. I’ve featured him a few times on my blog and I’ve collaborated with him on a prose piece titled ’50 Ways To Kill Your Lover’ (you can read it here: http://sugary-oblivion.blogspot.com/2014/07/50-ways-to-kill-your-lover.html) He’s from Windhoek, Namibia, but is currently studying in Cape Town. He blogs at jamesthatsall.com. His work is quite hard to track down at the moment but he is absolutely brilliant. I can’t wait for him to publish!

10.What projects are you working on at the present moment?

I’m currently working on an ebook which I hope to release before the end of the year. I’m still very much in the planning stages but it will consist of short stories and prose. I’ve recently started working on a short story titled ‘Don’t Be Elaborate With Elise’ which will most probably be included in the ebook. It’s a slow process but it’s a labour of love and I’m really excited to give my readers a collection of my old and new work. My blog will probably be dormant until then, but I think it’ll be worth the wait!.

Keep in touch with Cindy Van Wyk through the following:                                                              Twitter:@SugaryOblivion.

Instagram:@sugaryoblivion.

Blog:http://sugary-oblivion.blogspot.com.

We from TheCreativePattern would like to thank you Cindy for taking time for the interview. All the best of luck with your future plans &God bless. I leave you with a quote.

“I have offered myself to the inkwell of the wordsmith that I might be shaped into new terms of being”.~Saul Williams

Leave a Reply

