SHE IS MAKING WAVES THROUGH HER ACTING @SediMatsunyane

  1. Who is Lesedi Matsunyane?

Lesedi Matsunyane is a 22 year old big ball of energy from Johannesburg, who happens to be the daughter of Connie & Shona Ferguson and Neo Matsunyane, the sister of MoMo Matsunyane and the niece of Kgomotso Matsunyane. She just happens to love the same industry that her family is in, and is on the come-up to take over the industry by storm.

2.When did your love for acting surface?

Apparently I was always THAT child who loved attention, singing in supermarkets and reciting lines in crèche. I think I only realised how much I loved it when I was 6, performing the Lion King in primary school. From then onwards, my dream never changed.

3.Where did you study?

I studied and graduated from AFDA with a BA in Live Performance.

Lesedi 1    Lesedi 2

  1. What are the skills and experiences you have developed in acting?

One thing I’ve learnt is that the character has to be as genuine as possible. One has to be well-rounded in terms of where that character comes from, what their goal is throughout their journey and what obstacles they have to face before being fulfilled in the film. I also learnt different acting techniques, and how to position myself as a brand. The latter is something that is still a work in progress.

5.What attributes does someone need to have in order to be really successful?

The willingness to learn with every experience, the courage to always step out of your comfort zone, and the strength to work hard constantly. Most importantly, to be HUMBLE. Humility is a big attribute to have and maintain.

6.Any well known drama series or films have you acted in? and could you name them.

I made a cameo in Generations in 2012, as the young Ruby Dikobe in her flashbacks (apparently I was twerking hahahahahha), and most recently I played Lebo in Soul City 12. I have another cameo coming up in Rockville in a couple of weeks so look out for that too.

7.Tell me about a time where you had difficulty turning yourself into a character. What was the character and why was it challenging?

The time I had difficulty with turning into a character had to be for my last short film for AFDA called “Cooked”. I played an aspiring chef with one heck of a crazy side. It was fun but it took a lot of work to bring her to life.

Lesedi 11 Lesedi 10 Lesedi 9

  1. In which area would you like to improve as an actress?

There’s always something to improve in being an actor with each experience that we have. For me, I’d love to be challenged more and focus on stories that are current in society. Also, I’d love to explore acting on a more emotional level. I love to push myself in that aspect.

9.5 local actors you look up too&inspire you?

Florence Masebe, MamLilian Dube, my parents (biased I know but I do look up to them) and my older sister MoMo. I learn a lot from these people.

10.5 International actors you aspire to work with?

From Kevin Hart, Idris Elba and Taraji P. Henson to the cast of The Originals or The Vampire Diaries, there are way too many to mention. I’d love to conquer international soil is all I can say.

Lesedi 4 Lesedi 3

  1. How many local actors have you worked with?

Quite a few, all based on Soul City. Probably a good 20-30 people?

12.How often do you visit the cinema’s?

Not often enough, unfortunately. Last movie I saw was The Wedding Ringer.

13.Which book would you love to be turned into a movie & you would star in it?

I don’t read much either (hides) don’t judge me hahaha.

14.Your priceless moments on set?

Being on the set of Soul City was FUN and FUNNY. When I’d be waiting for my scenes, I’d be playing 30 Seconds and beating everyone in Crazy8 (card game). There was a great amount of love on that set between all the actors.

Lesedi 6 Lesedi 5

  1. 1 established director&1 up&coming director you would love to work with?

I’d love to work with Johnny Barbuzano because he really allows you to “play” with your character, and one up-and-coming director I’d love to work with again (because we’ve worked together before) is Que Ntuli. He’s an awesome human being and trusts your abilities as an actor to tell his story.

16. Favourite Director Of Photography?

Tom Marais and Leon Kriel are absolute GENIUSES.

17.In your own words Acting is…………..

Acting is the art of telling a story through another persons eyes. The end.

18.Any up and coming projects to look out for?

Except for the young cameo on Rockville in a couple of weeks, I’m taking some time off. But I’ll be back before you know it 😉

Lesedi 8 Lesedi 7

Wanna Interact with Lesedi ?

Twitter:@SediMatsunyane

Instagram: @LesediMatsunyane

I really love you my dear friend ,Thank you for sharing a piece of Lesedi with us,We TheCreativePattern are thankful wholeheartedly,wishing you all the best in your acting career,bring back Oscars 🙂 lots of love

Leave a Reply

