LETS GET TO KNOW PORTIA MOEMEDI @Pookiportia

1.Tell us about yourself: Why attracted you to modeling? Why are you interested in this career?

I never was into modelling. It really happened accidentally Was doing ms Sonop and Dagbreek at my res because my res voted for me to do it. The night of the event the Pure models Management agent was there and after the show he contacted me and asked me to join them.

Portia 1

2.Tell us about your education: Have you attended fashion modeling courses? What related courses or studies have you taken?

I have never went to any school for modeling.  But my agency just sent me to do a course to teach me the do s ans don’ts when casting.

Portia 2

3.What are your goals as a model? How do you see yourself progress in this field?

This is really just part time for me. As soon as I’m done studying I’m leaving the industry,  unless something big happens.

4. .What do you know about the advertisement industry, advertising psychology and photography?

Like I said I never studied in the field so I don’t know much about it.  But you have to be patient because every casting will not be a booking.

5.  How do you communicate with people? Are you patient? How open are you to clients’ requirements

Via email, phone calls and social media. I am a very patient person when it comes to my job. I am very open to them, if there is something that goes against my believe then no I won’t do it.

Portia 3

6.Do you eat nutritiously? How often do you exercise or go to the gym?

I eat healthy and gym often.  4 times a week and I play netball for my university.

7. What do you hope to accomplish at your modeling agency?

I want to book as many jobs as possible. And because we are only a year old I want to make our name bigger.

Portia 4

8.Do you have any limitations? Would you model any kind of clothing at all?

I won’t do nudes hahaha, but clothing I’d do anything.

9.  State your availability: would you travel? Work full-time, part time? Any hours?

I’m not a full time model I do it part time so I chose castings that the book dates won’t interfere with my studies.

10.Is Modeling becoming big in SA?

Yes definitely,  I mean we have a South African model ( Candice Swanepoel ) being one of the VS angels

11. Do you believe modeling can be financially rewarding and can also provide many other benefits?

Definitely I have friends who are just models and that’s how they pay their rent and make a living.

Portia 5

12.Who are some of your favorite models and designers, and why?

Nandipha Gumede she is one of the most hard working models I have ever came across of. And Khanya Ngumbela , everything she touches turns into gold ! Laduma has to be my fave designer,  it’s just magical that his everyday life and culture inspire his designs

13.Which fashion magazines, websites, blogs or catalogs do you visit most often?

Im always on Trevor Stuurman’s blog as well as Tsholofelo Dikobe.

14.  Out of all of the photos the photographer took of you, which is your favorite and why?

Ferdinand van Huizen, he does a really good job in directing you and also allows you to help him direct. And his images are of great quality , looks like something out of GQ .

Portia 6

15..What distinguishes a good model from a bad one?

A good model is one that will go the extra mile for the client but in the most professional way. One that tries to be versatile if you can – run way, commercials, stills etc.

16.what are some of the main differences between runway&photographic modeling?

Not everyone can do run way, you gotta be very tall. If you are 1,73 you are one od the shortest. Models who do still don’t need to be that tall but you need to have really good skin.

17.  Any upcoming modeling photoshoots?

Ah no, I booked out; im on holiday 🙂

IMG-20150121-WA000

Further details on Portia Moemedi catch her on

Twitter: @Pookiportia

Facebook: Portia Moemedi

Instagram: Pookiportia

All the best with your future plans Miss Moemedi,do hope to see you in runways in the future, You good at what you do. The creative pattern would love to thank you for taking your time to do an interview. God bless.

Leave a Reply

